• Story Poster
  • Group: MW Bot

Posted 22 April 2008 - 08:20 AM

Post your comments for Automating Word with AppleScript here

#2 User is offline   kranbollin 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 22 April 2008 - 08:51 AM

"One, Office 2008 doesn’t support the recording of AppleScripts as it once did for VBA. That means you must code AppleScripts by hand. Two, you can’t attach AppleScripts to toolbar buttons."
As a technical writer, I have recorded about a dozen macros specifying obscure symbols assigned to buttons on my Word 2004 toolbar. Office 2008 is therefore useless to me. I would try to learn AppleScript, but why bother when it's not compatible with Windows? Time to get an Intel Mac I suppose.

#3 User is offline   leicaman 

• Veteran
  • PipPipPip

Posted 22 April 2008 - 11:26 AM

Who cares if Applescript is compatible with Windows? Office 2008 isn't either.

As he pointed out, you can assign keyboard shortcuts to Applescripts.

Plus, you could give some other automation tool, like QuicKeys, a try. I use it for lots of things. From logging my hours in Peoplesoft with the touch of a button each day, to pasting in my full address, or pasting boilerplate into letters, faxes and emails.

There's more than one way to skin a cat, and still avoid putting Windows on your computer.
Message was edited by: leicaman

#4 User is offline   palane 

• PipPip

Posted 23 April 2008 - 08:31 AM

Who cares if Applescript is compatible with Windows? Office 2008 isn't either.
---
The point is that you can't do anything cross-platform. I had to do a little bit of tinkering, but got my Excel macros running on the same spreadsheet whether or not I opened it in Windows or Mac. This is handy for me as I've a PC on my desk at work, but use a Mac for on the home or road.