Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: Screenshot location/permissions problem - Macworld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Screenshot location/permissions problem MacOSX refuses to let me store a screenshot. Permission problem.

#1 User is offline   fjpoblam 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 23 November 2009 - 08:37 PM

When I use command+shift+4, then outline a screen area for a snapshot, the shutter whirrs and clicks. Then this message pops up: "Your screen shot can't be saved. You don't have permission to save files in the location where screen shots are stored."

I have no idea what location this may be. Nor have I any idea how to go about either changing the location or changing my permission to access the current location.

I'm an old Windoze veteran, only about a year-old MacOSX user. So, guesswork: I ran the disk utility to repair permissions, but I suspect this is hardly relevant.

I'm running a MacBookPro, 10.6.2, scrupulously up-to-date.

This post has been edited by fjpoblam: 23 November 2009 - 08:40 PM

#2 User is offline   bastion 

• Power User
  • PipPipPipPip

Posted 25 November 2009 - 09:18 AM

View Postfjpoblam, on 23 November 2009 - 08:37 PM, said:

When I use command+shift+4, then outline a screen area for a snapshot, the shutter whirrs and clicks. Then this message pops up: "Your screen shot can't be saved. You don't have permission to save files in the location where screen shots are stored."

I have no idea what location this may be. Nor have I any idea how to go about either changing the location or changing my permission to access the current location.

I'm an old Windoze veteran, only about a year-old MacOSX user. So, guesswork: I ran the disk utility to repair permissions, but I suspect this is hardly relevant.