Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: How to pull still images from your videos - Macworld Forums

Jump to content

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to pull still images from your videos

#1 User is offline   Macworld 

  • Story Poster
  • Group: MW Bot
  • Posts: 34,402
  • Joined: 30-November 07

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:06 AM

Post your comments for How to pull still images from your videos here
0

#2 User is offline   joeyfferguson 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 21-September 10

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:11 AM

If you are using Quicktime 7, you are able to directly copy a frame of a video using command+C, and then paste this into an editing program such as Photoshop.
0

#3 User is offline   applemanDesign 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 09-June 08

Posted 21 September 2010 - 06:22 AM

thxs for stating that free hint for FCP users...
0

#4 User is offline   LeTap 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 421
  • Joined: 16-September 09

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:38 AM

View Postjoeyfferguson, on 21 September 2010 - 06:11 AM, said:

If you are using Quicktime 7, you are able to directly copy a frame of a video using command+C, and then paste this into an editing program such as Photoshop.


In fact, in QT7 you can export every frame of your video to jpegs (you can then rebuild it into a sort of time-frame video simply by choosing every nth frame).
0

#5 User is offline   LeTap 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 421
  • Joined: 16-September 09

Posted 21 September 2010 - 07:40 AM

In fact, in QT7 you can export every frame of your video to jpegs (you can then rebuild it into a sort of time-frame video simply by choosing every nth frame).
0

#6 User is offline   gballey 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 29-February 08

Posted 21 September 2010 - 09:29 AM

Many Mac video programs that have a Quicktime export function (like QT 7 and Final Cut Express) can export the currently displayed frame as a picture. One of the Quicktime format options is usually "as picture" or something similar. In some cases, the resulting image may be squashed horizontally, but you can use Preview to scale the image properly and re-save it.
0

#7 User is offline   HandyMac 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 248
  • Joined: 22-June 01

Posted 22 September 2010 - 12:13 AM

"Click and drag to pull a selection marquis...."

I believe you mean "marquee".
0

#8 User is offline   stevenoz 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 12-January 06

Posted 22 September 2010 - 05:43 AM

I've used VLC Media Player (free), for years, to take screen shots of video, when QT Player did not allow it.
1

#9 User is offline   missinglina 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 25-March 04

Posted 22 September 2010 - 06:58 AM

Has anyone tried this with the new iPod touch? The camera is HD but I'm sure it wouldn't yield 4X7 prints. Might it yield 3X5? 3X5s can still be of use.

Thanks.
0

#10 User is offline   albertross 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 09-April 08

Posted 24 September 2010 - 03:35 AM

I needed software early this year to do exactly what you are talking about, to extract some shots from some old 50s’ footage I was working on for the local museum. I looked at the $100 apps and settled on ScreenCapper developed by a guy called Jean-Nicolas Jolivet.
It cost $10.95 and does the same job as the $100 apps. It is very easy to use as well. One of the best $11s’ I have ever spent. I use it a lot on all sorts of projects. Have a look at it. It made me wonder where the other $90 was going in the other apps. Sometimes I think it is worthwhile putting your hand in your pocket and use someone else's hard work, rather than always looking for a way to do it yourself.
0

#11 User is offline   phdtop 

  • Member
  • Group: Macworld Insiders
  • Posts: 286
  • Joined: 05-June 06

Posted 10 October 2010 - 11:42 AM

View PostHandyMac, on 22 September 2010 - 12:13 AM, said:

"Click and drag to pull a selection marquis...."

I believe you mean "marquee".


No, he meant Marquis; it should have been capitalized. Selection is an obscure district in central France, and its Marquis gets upset when his name isn't printed properly. He rarely gets upset when he is pulled, but he has been known to refuse to extend his arms around a selection -- should journalists make this mistake too often.
1

#12 User is offline   rwooda81 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 25-July 11

  Posted 25 July 2011 - 07:59 AM

i have a dvd video camera. i shot still pictures in video mode are there any way i can get prints from the dvd disc ?
0

#13 User is offline   Karren 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 12

  Posted 15 July 2012 - 07:37 AM

I have a video on my Nikon Coolpix L810. Now I want to clip a frame for a picture. How do I do this?
0

#14 User is offline   suemac2754 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 06-January 13

  Posted 06 January 2013 - 08:15 PM

Thank you, thank you. Just loaded MovieTolmage and saved some badly wanted photos that were taken as video!!
0

Share this topic:


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users