• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The App Culture

#15 User is offline   hikethru08 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 02 October 2011 - 12:28 PM

I love the Mac App Store.
The comment about the Mac App Store turning into "a wasteland of arcade games and one-trick-pony" apps is laughable. I am a developer, and every app I have purchased so far has provided a significant capability that made my job easier. Many useful apps really do not need more than the Sandbox provides, and for the technically higher risk applications (take VMWare for example), I just go buy it from the vendor, no big deal.
The great thing about the app store is that I am willing to experiment with apps from unknown developers because there is an element of "trust" associated with the app store that does not exist with downloads from random internet sites.

#16 User is offline   umbilicus 

• PipPip

Posted 02 October 2011 - 01:39 PM

View Posthikethru08, on 02 October 2011 - 12:28 PM, said:

I love the Mac App Store.
The comment about the Mac App Store turning into "a wasteland of arcade games and one-trick-pony" apps is laughable. I am a developer, and every app I have purchased so far has provided a significant capability that made my job easier. Many useful apps really do not need more than the Sandbox provides, and for the technically higher risk applications (take VMWare for example), I just go buy it from the vendor, no big deal.
The great thing about the app store is that I am willing to experiment with apps from unknown developers because there is an element of "trust" associated with the app store that does not exist with downloads from random internet sites.

Agreed. As a veteran of Tucows and various other shareware sites (including Apple's) from back in the day it's a relief not to have to worry about badly implemented third-party software causing me serious system-wide grief.

#17 User is offline   SHRIKEE 

• PipPip

Posted 02 October 2011 - 02:25 PM