Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: Reviving a dead Apple remote - Macworld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Reviving a dead Apple remote

#1 User is offline   Macworld 

  • Story Poster
  • Group: MW Bot
  • Posts: 34,402
  • Joined: 30-November 07

Posted 14 January 2013 - 09:01 AM

Post your comments for Reviving a dead Apple remote here
0

#2 User is offline   paulvt 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-January 13

  Posted 14 January 2013 - 09:09 AM

An easy way to test a remote? Start Photo Booth and point your remote at the iSight camera... if the remote is functioning, you will see the LED's flashing.
1

#3 User is offline   stevenwright13 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 14-January 13

  Posted 14 January 2013 - 09:37 AM

Quote

An easy way to test a remote? Start Photo Booth and point your remote at the iSight camera... if the remote is functioning, you will see the LED's flashing.

That's a handy tip! I have a newer apple remote that doesn't seem to work and I cannot tell if its the remote or receiver. Thank you.
0

#4 User is offline   Dennistrator 

  • Member
  • Group: Macworld Insiders
  • Posts: 765
  • Joined: 03-February 10

  Posted 14 January 2013 - 10:43 AM

Good article and a good tip!
0

#5 User is offline   Dotkhan 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: 13-May 10

  Posted 14 January 2013 - 11:21 PM

Quote

An easy way to test a remote? Start Photo Booth and point your remote at the iSight camera... if the remote is functioning, you will see the LED's flashing.


That tip is a more advanced lesson on how to fix something than checking if the device was plugged in or needs a new battery.

I just bought a replacement remote after changing the battery on my white remote several times.
0

#6 User is offline   dmodave 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 15-January 13

  Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:17 PM

You can also use the remotes for Keynote presentations. As well as Apple TV
0

#7 User is offline   Chuckysan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 13

  Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:44 AM

I have changed the batteries on my remote and it functions appropriately during the test (pointing it at photo booth as well as a camera) but my iMac does not seem to receive the signal. Any suggestions?
Thanks
0

#8 User is offline   SteveK 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 09-October 06

  Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:33 AM

Chuckysan, you probably need to repair it with your Mac. If I am remembering right, hold down the menu button and the right arrow until you see two chains linked up appear on the screen. It will be in a shaded gray box like the volume indicator appears. Hope this helps.
0

#9 User is offline   SteveK 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 09-October 06

  Posted 16 January 2013 - 09:33 AM

ugh, not repair. I meant re-pair. Sorry for the typo.
0

#10 User is offline   Chuckysan 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: New Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 16-January 13

  Posted 16 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

It worked!
Thanks Steve
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users