Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Setting up Synology NAS Connecting NAS, a few Macs, and a router

#1 User is offline   jonsm 

• Pip
  • Group: New Members

Posted 27 June 2013 - 06:29 AM

Hi, I've got a NAS that I need to set up and I'm new to the NAS world (Synology DS412+, specs here: http://www.synology....412%2B&lang=enu). It originally looked like I was going to be setting up a wireless network with a few Macs. Now the big boss just wants ethernet going back to the router. There is no server on the network. This one has 3 USB ports, an eSata and 2 LAN. Can I plug this into the router and access it from the other Macs? If not, can I connect it to one of the Macs and access it via the other Macs? What configuration would you suggest. Thanks in advance!

#2 User is offline   smax013 

• Veteran
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 27 June 2013 - 02:29 PM

View Postjonsm, on 27 June 2013 - 06:29 AM, said:

Hi, I've got a NAS that I need to set up and I'm new to the NAS world (Synology DS412+, specs here: http://www.synology....412%2B&lang=enu). It originally looked like I was going to be setting up a wireless network with a few Macs. Now the big boss just wants ethernet going back to the router. There is no server on the network. This one has 3 USB ports, an eSata and 2 LAN. Can I plug this into the router and access it from the other Macs? If not, can I connect it to one of the Macs and access it via the other Macs? What configuration would you suggest. Thanks in advance!

All devices (both Macs and the NAS) will connect to the router's ethernet LAN ports. If there are not enough LAN ports on the router, then you can get an ethernet switch (not another router) that connects to one of the LAN ports...this essentially "adds" more ports to the router.