• Story Poster
  • Group: MW Bot

Posted 24 July 2013 - 05:30 AM

Post your comments for Six reasons to buy an iPad here

#2 User is offline   TeaEarleGreyHot 

• Veteran
  • Group: Macworld Insiders

Posted 24 July 2013 - 05:51 AM

If you’d prefer to not hear stories of my family affairs and instead ask a question of your own, drop a line to....

Ha, no but thanks for this nice article. I've been asking myself Aunt Vilma's question for several months. :)

#3 User is offline   danmusician 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 24 July 2013 - 06:02 AM

If Aunt Vilma is an older member of the clan, say in her 70’s, I would encourage her to "try before you by." From the beginning, I thought the ipad would be perfect for my parents. However, they have never been able to master holding the thing. Inevitably, the thumb holding the device ends up on the screen surface causing havoc when they touch with their other finger. Hence a swipe because a zoom, etc.

I recently tried an ipad mini with them, but their frustration was too great from previous experiences to give it a chance.

#4 User is offline   ksinger 

• PipPip

Posted 24 July 2013 - 06:22 AM

[quote name='danmusician'] If Aunt Vilma is an older member of the clan, say in her 70’s,

EXCUSE ME, but I am an "older member" of my clan and love my iPad. I do not have any "thumb" issues. You might suggest that they shouldn't be holding an object as heavy as an iPad in their hand but rather resting it on their knees or propped in an easily removable case so they can switch the orientation. An iPad is not for everybody, but being able to sit comfortably and zoom to make things more visible are real assets. However I do agree with Chris that it can be addicting because it is so available and so can isolate you from the world of flesh and blood encounters with people.

#5 User is offline   danmusician 

• PipPip

Posted 24 July 2013 - 06:44 AM