Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: missing iPhoto library - replaced by MacFort with sparse bundle image - Macworld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

missing iPhoto library - replaced by MacFort with sparse bundle image

#1 User is offline   Valentin666 

• Pip
  • Group: New Members

Posted 28 August 2013 - 03:40 AM

Hello to everyone!

I am new to Macworld.com and to Apple in General! Got my new Macbook Air abouth a month ago and one the first thing I did was to transfer all my pictures to iPhoto (about 18k or 55Gb). I sorted them in Events, Albums, etc - all cool. Then, I decided to password protect my iPhoto library using MacFort. I guess thhis was a big mistake from my part as I didn't really understand how this software really worked...

Anyway, here's what I did step by step and what was the rather unpleasant outcome:

1) Installed MacFort; found my iPhoto Library there and started encrypting it straight away

2) Once the encrypting was finished, iPhoto started to request a password everytime it was launched - so far so good

3) After the trial of MacFort expired I decided to uninstall the App. Stupid as I am, I did it with CleanApp and not using the uninstall option through MacFort

4) When decided to launch iPhoto it couldnt find any libraries as if none really existed before .. :X

5) I then restored MacFort as it was still in my Trash and tried to load the encrypted file.. Unfortunately the App doesn't find any files and I cannot decrypt the vault I had previously created for iPhoto...

- even worse: it doesn't find iPhoto nor its library when scanning for files to encrypt

- the only thing that MacFort recognises is the a vault which I can lock or unlock:

6) I then did some searches and found out that all my pictures (about 50gb) are considered as 'Other' storage (i.e. the sparse bundle disk image) and I have nothing considered as photos in Iphoto