Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: new iMac - Preview won't quit, can't shut down com - Macworld Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

new iMac - Preview won't quit, can't shut down com

#1 User is offline   MissKitty 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 04 August 2003 - 10:29 PM

I am a complete newbie, so bear with me. I just got a 15 " flat screen iMac using OS 10.2.3 and I can't quit Preview, even using force quit and I can't shut down, restart or log out. Help!

#2 User is offline   VidPro 

• PipPip

Posted 05 August 2003 - 04:21 AM

the easiest fix: pull the plug! /forums/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
Then wait at least 10 seconds before restarting.
Wouldn't hurt to update, I'm on 10.2.6 and have fewer freezes than ever.
Another old remedy; have a sip of brandy (or some such). /forums/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
And if all else fails, search for Preview's plist file and delete it.

#3 User is offline   BHeth 

• PipPip

Posted 05 August 2003 - 04:43 AM

Before you pull the plug, You might try repairing permissions (utilities/disk repair). I would also use Cocktail to clean everything out. If those two fail to help, do you have DiskWarrior?

#4 User is offline   Kate 

• PipPip

Posted 05 August 2003 - 06:09 PM

Hold the "start-up" button down [on back of base of iMac] until you hear it begin to shut down. Then after waiting a few seconds, push it again just once firmly and your Mac will restart.
You can then log in again. After having used this method of shutting down and restarting, it is probably a good thing to do that f process that I don't know how to do by heart, but someone else can help you with that!
Miss Kitty /forums/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif

#5 User is offline   MissKitty 

• Pip

Posted 05 August 2003 - 09:50 PM