Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Filemaker vs 4D

#1 User is offline   leh3md 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 07 December 2003 - 07:50 PM

I have written some fairly sophisticated databases in Foxpro. However, Foxpro was never really finished for the Mac and doesn't work after OS 8.6. I'm finally upgrading to OS X so it's time to find a new database software. I want to write custom, multiuser, relational databases to be used over a small office network. I want to have double clickable applications with custom menus, buttons, etc. I have read the reviews of both filemaker pro and 4D and I can't tell there is a clear winner. I would be very interested in comments both pro and con to either database, especially if someone has used both. Thanks for the help
Les

#2 User is offline   RobBrandt 

• Pip

Posted 19 January 2004 - 10:43 AM

I have little experience with Filemaker, although by reputation it's weaknesses are in relational data, business logic, validation, and large data sets in multi user. I've never considered it because I write applications for other people and with it's marriage of the program code and the data in the same file, upgrading would be a nightmare. Filemaker, also by reputation, can be awesome for putting together simple databases quickly. So I guess it's appropriate for the right project.
I use 4D for some of my projects, and it's considerably more sophisticated than Filemaker. That's good and bad. It takes more effort to create a finished application, but you're less likely to run into a limitation of some sort. It has it's own limitations though, and ain't cheap. Their support is good, but QC isn't so good. To me, it feels like it's held together with duct tape and bailing wire.