Macworld Forums

Macworld Forums: Internal iSight Camera DISAPPEARS on MacBook Pro - Macworld Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Internal iSight Camera DISAPPEARS on MacBook Pro

#1 User is offline   davidferleger 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 19-July 05

Posted 10 June 2006 - 03:53 PM

A strange story. All here feel free to distribute elsewhere.
I have the MacBook Pro 17". It has the INTERNAL iSight camera built-in. I am told
this is connected via USB inside.
This week, I attached a Firewire EXTERNAL iSight camera (its aim is not
fixed). Worked fine, and the internal iSight automatically was off, while I
used the external one. Detached external iSight. Put MacBook to sleep overnight.
Next day, iChat showed that IT COULD NOT FIND any video camera.
Another program also could not find ANY video camera. No light on
internal iSight.
Called Apple support. He would not say if they heard of this problem before.
Solution he had readily at hand: Shut down. Close lid. Take out battery. Disconnect
powercord. And -- with NOTHING connected, press and hold POWER ON
button for 5 seconds. There is no sound or any indication this does
anything. He said this resets the Power Management in the computer.
I added back the power and battery. INTERNAL iSight works fine again.
David
david@ferleger.com
0

#2 User is offline   cyberhazard 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 552
  • Joined: 08-February 02

Posted 10 June 2006 - 04:25 PM

That is strange.
But, you gotta chalk one up for Apple's tech support. /forums/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
0

#3 User is offline   GoCats! 

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 100
  • Joined: 26-March 01

Posted 10 June 2006 - 04:47 PM

Hello..
I actually did exactly what you did, but with a 15" MBP, last week. But I didn't lose my built in camera, it still works fine.
I'm assuming you went into iChat's preferences and reselected the internal camera? I don't recall if I had to do that, but I do remember that I had to manually chose the external iSight in order to use that one initially.
Just a thought.
0

#4 User is offline   davidferleger 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 19-July 05

Posted 10 June 2006 - 07:21 PM

Thanks for the comment GoCats. Interestingly, I did NOT have to choose the external iSight when I first plugged it in and turned it on.
0

#5 User is offline   davidferleger 

  • Newbie
  • Pip
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 19-July 05

Posted 10 June 2006 - 07:22 PM

Yes tech support was reached quickly, and the guy seemed to know exactly what to do.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users