Quantcast
You are not logged in, click here to log in.
19 Replies Last post: Oct 11, 2005 9:56 AM by pdrayton   1 2 Previous Next
Click to view CrecenS's profile Enthusiast 1,561 posts since
Jan 30, 2002
Reply

Jun 1, 2005 6:55 AM

www.mp3search.ru

Has anyone here used http://www.mp3search.ru to buy music? At $1 per album, it seems like a great place to get music, but I'm looking for other ppl's experiences.

Thanks,
Reply
Click to view Graeme_Smith's profile Member 483 posts since
Apr 21, 2005
1. Jun 2, 2005 6:19 AM in response to: CrecenS
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Wow! That place is cheap!
I just tried to listen to the preview (30 sec) of a song and there is a "buzz" in the background. If have the CD so I know its not there on the real thing. That would be really annoying if its on the music you buy.

Edit: BTW, I wonder if you get any album art like on the iTMS?
Click to view eyebum's profile New Member 1 posts since
Jun 18, 2005
2. Jun 18, 2005 9:46 PM in response to: Graeme_Smith
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Hey there...
I found mp3search.ru about a month ago. It is pretty awesome. I have tried the preview of the songs, but it doesn't seem to work. So if I need to preview a song, I do it on IMS (iTunes Music Store), then I can buy it on mp3search.ru if I want it.
They have a pretty big collection, and I have found things that were not on IMS.
There is still a lot of stuff on IMS that you can't find on mp3search.ru as well. I spend money in both places.

When you download a song, you get only an MP3. Nothing else. They sound like typical MP3 quality to me-which means that I can't tell the difference between that and CD quality. The cover art is funny. They don't download anything when you download a song, but they do display, so you can ctrl-click, save to disk, and then point your songs to it in iTunes.

It has worked for me...

eyebum
Click to view Jon Seff's profile Macworld Editorial 737 posts since
Dec 13, 2000
3. Jun 20, 2005 3:48 PM in response to: eyebum
Re: www.mp3search.ru
I have a hard time believing that this site is in any way legal. Tracks for $.10 a piece when legit online services sell them for $.99 each? MP3 files (which offer no protection) when every other site selling popular music uses some form of DRM? They also sell music they clearly label as bootlegs.

You might want to pay very close attention to your credit card statement after you've handed out your information to a dubious-sounding business in Russia.


Jon Seff - Senior News Editor, Macworld
Click to view Graeme_Smith's profile Member 483 posts since
Apr 21, 2005
4. Jun 21, 2005 1:16 AM in response to: Jon Seff
Re: www.mp3search.ru
To good to be true then... Oh well.
Click to view anshulj's profile New Member 1 posts since
Jul 7, 2005
5. Jul 7, 2005 7:22 PM in response to: Graeme_Smith
Re: www.mp3search.ru
I signed up with macworld just so that I could reply to your post.

mp3search.ru works great for me. I was skeptical at first - but after having downloaded close to 20 albums from them.. I'm not any more.. I believe..

it doesn't break any local laws in russia.. and personally i feel that this is how much legal album downloads should cost anyway... or maybe 20p a song max.. what's the difference (Esp. if you're interested in entire albums) in buying 12 songs off Apple's service.. and buying a CD off the store shelf?

if you are an audiophile and mp3 just isn't good enough for you then try out allofmp3.com - they give you a lot more control over the final file format - and actually encode a CD version to whatever version you've requested in realtime.. it's very neat.. and you can try them for free - they give you 20 cents of credit when you sign up..

Basically, I just replied to tell you.. that in this case.. it's too good.. and it is true.. buy now before Russian laws change

Cheers
Click to view Rugby's profile Enthusiast 1,255 posts since
Aug 28, 2004
6. Jul 8, 2005 5:42 AM in response to: anshulj
Re: www.mp3search.ru
In reply to:<hr />
it doesn't break any local laws in russia..

<hr />

possibly not in Russia but I seriously doubt that they follow international copyright laws.
If you were a musician, would you really approve of this service ? I am for cheap music but this sounds REALLY dodgy and unfair ....I really would like to hear how they compensate the artist
Click to view rosiep's profile New Member 1 posts since
Jul 8, 2005
7. Jul 8, 2005 7:51 AM in response to: Rugby
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Here is a copy of the answer I got from mp3search.ru in regards to legitimacy:

MP3Search.ru is registered in Russia and has the license agreement
01-17 with Russian Organization for Multimedia and Digital Systems (ROMS,
www.roms.ru).
According to this Agreement we pay copyright royalties.

ROMS is the Russian organization on collective management of copyrights.
ROMS is authorized by the Russian Federation Law on copyright and related
rights to issue user licenses on behalf of all Russian and foreign copyright
holders.

We ask our customers to make a pre-payment before downloading and we do
not charge customer's card every time customer downloads a track because the
expenses involved in the transaction are much more than the price of a
single track. Otherwise we would have to fix higher prices, such as by iTunes
or MSN Music (about 0.99 USD).

There is no monthly payment, all your payments will be on your account
till you spend them.

You are welcome to join us!

Does this help!!!
Click to view Rugby's profile Enthusiast 1,255 posts since
Aug 28, 2004
8. Jul 8, 2005 8:06 AM in response to: rosiep
Re: www.mp3search.ru
In reply to:<hr />
Does this help!!!

<hr />

yes it does!!!!

it would be more interesting to see how this is possible as all the other services (Microsoft etc) have to apply on country basis. If Apple would establish its iTunes in Nepal would they be able to ignore local laws? Just a question not an accusation

Jon,
could Playlist check this ?
Click to view Jon Seff's profile Macworld Editorial 737 posts since
Dec 13, 2000
9. Jul 8, 2005 1:09 PM in response to: Rugby
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Just out of curiosity, I sent e-mails to a few bands whose works are sold on that site...we'll see what they have to say.


Jon Seff - Senior News Editor, Macworld
Click to view Ott_Phenotne's profile Member 211 posts since
Nov 21, 2001
10. Jul 8, 2005 6:11 PM in response to: Jon Seff
Re: www.mp3search.ru
I did some poking around the site & looked at the Beatles selection that they have. It's a treasure trove of unreleased & bootleg material. There's no way it could be legit (legal) to resell that stuff...
Click to view Rugby's profile Enthusiast 1,255 posts since
Aug 28, 2004
11. Jul 8, 2005 11:14 PM in response to: Jon Seff
Re: www.mp3search.ru
good man
I think it warrants an investigation and a short follow up blog and/or article.
After profit/cost of maintaining site etc what do they actually pay to artists ?



Click to view jshifrin's profile New Member 8 posts since
Jul 5, 2005
12. Jul 11, 2005 8:52 AM in response to: Rugby
Re: www.mp3search.ru
I couldn't believe this would be legal. If it is tell me, cos that's amazing.
Click to view mikie's profile New Member 1 posts since
Oct 8, 2005
13. Oct 8, 2005 3:56 AM in response to: CrecenS
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Hi there...yes I have used this site for about a year...maybe just over a year.My feelings on this is,I dont distribute the music, it is purely for my ears only.Yes I guess there are people out there who will download then upload or burn discs for sale,this is a widespread problem not just on the site in question.I dont see anything illegal happening here,but ok if the Bands arnt getting anything then that is wrong,and I certainly wasnt aware of this.So as from today I will not be using the site.I saw the site as a cheep place to buy music and as in the UK mp3 sites such as itunes is expensive and to buy the discs from the shop you have to shell out on average 12 pounds which the band doesnt see much of anyway sites like mp3search will hopefully help to combat the price war and make it cheeper to buy and download.What do you think
Click to view pdrayton's profile Enthusiast 1,820 posts since
Sep 19, 2003
14. Oct 8, 2005 5:31 AM in response to: CrecenS
Re: www.mp3search.ru
Found this link on the legal situations regarding mp3search.ru.

Reading through that one can see that it appears it is legal to operate a site such as this in Russia, illegal to operate such a site in the United States and most other countries, and unclear whether or not it is legal be in the US (or most other countries) and purchase music downloads from mp3search.ru.

What does appear to be clear is that the creator of the copyrighted content, the artist, is being taken advantage of and is missing out on deserved income. Think about it... it has been stated that artists receive less than 6 cents of the 99 cent fee per download at iTMS. Do you really think that the artists (the songwriter and the performer) have willingly signed on to making a tenth of what they typically get for online music downloads, especially as they are campaigning to double their royalties?

Rather englightening to see people ranting on web sites that they are being "ripped-off" by Apple regarding iPod batteries, scratches on iPod nano screens, and failed lower memory slots on PowerBooks while at the same time you have people coming up with convoluted legal arguments to justify "ripping-off" songwriters and performers in order to save 89 cents.

It will be interesting to see what Jon Seff reports regarding the artists' opinions on mp3search.ru.